How the crap sandwich came to be

I have discovered that with the exception of beer, humor is the world’s best coping mechanism.

That’s it. That’s pretty much the basis for my blog. My friends have been on me for years to write down my stories and turn them into a book. Clearly, unless I can figure out how not to sleep, that isn’t going to happen. So we are going to try it this way. Because it’s true, I do have a lot to say.

Let’s start my very first blog post with the name. I should say that I don’t really think my life is a crap sandwich. On the contrary, I love my life. It makes me wonder sometimes why I am not medicated, but yet I love it all the same. But a wise cancer mom once used the term “crap sandwich” to describe pediatric cancer. And I adopted it. Because I love it. And well, it’s funny, damn it.

So what will I write about on my blog? Most of the posts will be rambling of a stressed-out mom who has a little boy with more diagnoses than fingers. Or pretty close. I won’t go into Grant’s medical history with too much detail, just know that the only special needs summer camp he doesn’t qualify to go to (and there are like 60), is the one for craniofacial abnormalities.

But I will also write about a bunch of other crap you may not care about, but perhaps it might make you feel a little better about your own life. Regardless, this is my story, and I am sticking to it.

Also, there might be a few other moms out there that this could help. Like Jill, a brand-new cancer mom I met on Tuesday during Grant’s immunology visit at Riley. Her little one, Vera, is just starting her leukemia treatment. I am so blessed to have a child that is cancer-free, but I will never forget what it feels like to be Jill. And after talking with her for a long time, I actually made her laugh. Twice. It might have been the first time since Vera was diagnosed. And that was my best accomplishment in a long time.

Thanks for reading!

Leave a Reply

