The bingo bitch is my new BFF

There are a lot of things about myself that I wish I could change. I talk a lot, and loudly at that. I have weird germ-a-phobe quirks like I don’t like to touch my food with my hands, which means I eat things with a fork that other people don’t. Like cookies. Or cheeseburgers. I also have issues with directions, and have spent half my life somewhere lost. Seriously. Half.

But one thing about myself that I am most proud of is I don’t judge other people. Ever. Ever. I credit my mom with having ingrained this quality into me. She is the most open-minded and open-hearted person I know.

So what does all this have to do with anything, and who in the world is the Bingo Bitch? I am getting to that.

I found myself at the laundromat this afternoon after days of cooties had swept through the house, concluding with a stomach thing that was terrible. Yep, all manner of symptoms and illnesses were present and accounted for. And this meant that it was high time to wash all of the bedding including the comforters. So off to the laundromat I went.

Not to digress, but I have to say that I really dig the Laundromat. It’s really warm and cozy in there, and it smells super good with all its Downy April Fresh fabulousness. Plus there are lots of good magazines, and the hum of the dryers is quite relaxing. That and nobody in there asks me to get them a sippy of juice or wipe their bottom when I am in the middle of eating. (And I may very well grab myself a snack because did I mention they have candy machines in there too?)

So anyway, what kind of goes along with being non-judgmental is I tend to think everyone is my next undiscovered BFF, and thus they must be dying for me to strike up a conversation with them.( Actually, maybe this isn’t something to be proud of. When I say it like that it just sounds annoying.)

So there were two gals doing laundry when I arrived. And man, were they doing some laundry. They had almost every machine full. And they were obviously good friends, and seemed to be having a pretty good time, considering (although hell, who knows, maybe they also love the Laundromat). I did wonder if they might think I was a little strange if I were to just strike up a conversation with them, not that it stopped me or anything. But I will admit it crossed my mind. I mean, I was wearing my favorite fluffy pink scarf and flower clip in my hair with leggings and Uggs, and they, well, weren’t wearing that.  If I recall, one of the gals was wearing winter coveralls, kind of like a mechanic would wear, and the other gal had on house shoes and a tee shirt with “Bingo Bitch” on the back of it.

But they were super fabulous. I mean, they did seem a little surprised when I started chatting them up, but well, I am kind of loud and scary tall and all that pink can take some getting used to.

But if I was someone who judged others, and worse, didn’t want to be friends with people who weren’t just like me, I might not have talked to them. That would have been my loss.

Because you know what those two ladies were doing in there on a Saturday afternoon they had off work? They were doing laundry (34 loads) for an elderly couple that lived near them. The wife is overwhelmed caring for her husband who unfortunately is suffering from Alzheimer’s. And this poor wife had purchased a new washer and dryer set, but it was not working. (Which made us wonder if this poor woman wasn’t being taken advantage of because it was still under warranty and she had called the repair service line several times. Totally uncool to take advantage of sweet little old people, and it’s a good thing I had my fabulous new phone with internet because I jumped right on there and got another place she could call. Take that you grouchy meanie who wouldn’t help, you are no match for my new droid. And I got it for just such an occasion.)

So there you have it. A perfect example of why you should look at others not with a critical eye, but as a friend you haven’t made yet. And why you shouldn’t judge others because they don’t look like you do (and if you are almost six feet tall and love to wear pink glasses, scarves and flower pins, that would really narrow it down).

So the next time I need to wash our rugs or bedspreads, I hope I see my new friends at the Laundromat. Because I forgot to ask where she got that cool Bingo Bitch tee. I gotta get me one of those.

In pink, of course.

5 thoughts on “The bingo bitch is my new BFF

Leave a Reply

