My week of awesome.

 

“A hero is somebody who is selfless, who is generous in spirit, who just tries to give back as much as possible and help people. A hero to me is someone who saves people and who really deeply cares.” Debi Mazar

Through my journey as Grant’s mom, I have been touched by the kindness of many people. This week, one particular person kinda blew me away.

She’s this itty bitty thing with cute brown curly hair. She is a mom of five little ones, including three triplet boys. She is a super fast runner … like the kind of girl who can outrun boys – which ya just gotta love. Our friendship is pretty new, as I have only known her a little over a year. Of course, I met her on a trip to Vegas to run a half-marathon, so that bonds people pretty quickly.

The thing I have noticed about this particular chick is she seems to not realize her insane fabulousness. She is so beautiful on the inside, and equally so on the outside. She is hilarious and quite the blogger. She is also an awesome mom.

Here is what this amazing woman did for me … every day this week I had a special card with a handwritten anonymous note. All of the messages were uplifting. There was a gift card enclosed in every one. I don’t want to say specifically because I know she would be embarrassed, but I do want to say she picked places that were so awesome. For example, the movies and my family’s favorite restaurant.

While I loved every card, my favorite was the one with the Boston Terrier that said, “Times are tough. Yesterday, I had to sniff my own butt. This stinks, I hope it gets better soon.”

People often ask me what to do for a friend or loved one going through a hard time, such as a medical issue. From now on, my answer will be to read this blog. Every single day I felt like I got a big bear hug when I opened the card. It was so much fun. I felt so loved. It was like my crap sandwich had a chocolate shake with it. With whipped cream. The real kind. Like at an old-fashioned malt shop.

CHRISTY BOCCONE you are all that and a bag of Sun Chips – with a side of fucking awesome.

Love you girl.

One thought on “My week of awesome.

Leave a Reply

